Peyi cookies 🍪🌴 The selected partners and ourselves use cookies or similar technologies as described in the cookie policy.

You can consent to the use of these technologies by clicking on the button below.

Read our Cookie policy.

Subscribe to our ☀️ sun'letter !
*martinican newsletter

Don't miss the best adventure ideas, practical infos for an unforgettable stay and many surprises. We promise, no spam!

Not now

Martinique

Journey to the heart of Martinique

Located between sea and land, Martinique is a French overseas region. It enjoys a pleasant climate, an amazing historical heritage and countless riches, which has allowed it to establish itself as a must-see tourist destination. It is made up of 34 communes, each with places to explore.

The island of flowers 

Martinique is a small island of 1,100 km², composed of 34 communes for 376,480 inhabitants. It is part of the Volcanic Arc of the Lesser Antilles. A real earthly paradise, you have surely already heard about it. I will be surprised if you haven't.

Martinique is a DROM meaning Overseas Department and Region. Its culture is a splendid fusion of French and Creole culture. Always a touch of authenticity with a touch of modernity, you are sure to love it!

Between paradisiacal beaches, lush forest and colonial heritage, the island of flowers has everything to offer to those looking for sweet moments in the sun.

This page lists a set of information about the island of Martinique. You will find its communes, the different maps, its history or its geographical density.

Practical information 

The essential 

If your trip to Martinique is booked, all you have to do is pack your suitcase. Martinique has a tropical climate, like the rest of the West Indies. Temperatures are therefore pleasant all year round. Between June and November the climate is hotter and more humid with occasional tropical rains. And between December and May the temperatures will be milder and the climate dry. In your suitcase, you will take summer clothes. 


You will take light clothes that can be worn to go to the beach or to visit the flower island and do activities. So pack your favorite dresses, shorts, tank tops and t-shirts for this beautiful tropical trip. Remember to take something a little warmer, for example for air conditioning in restaurants or for hiking at altitude. Don't forget to bring a bathing suit, flip-flops, comfortable shoes, a cap, sunglasses and especially sunscreen. 

Finally, if you wish to discover the sea bed, remember to bring a mask and snorkels. And to immortalize your most beautiful memories of Martinique and the Caribbean, don't forget your camera and possibly a camcorder.

Formalities 

If you are a citizen of the European Union, you will need a valid passport or national identity card to go to Martinique. For Swiss nationals, a passport is required. Moreover, the passport will be necessary if you intend to make an extension in the English-speaking islands of the surroundings. A visa is not required for stays of less than 90 days for European Union citizens and Swiss citizens.

The currency used in Martinique is the Euro since Martinique is a French Overseas Department. The American dollar can also be accepted, although this is rarely the case. Credit cards and traveler's checks are accepted. As far as electricity is concerned, it is 220 volts with the same plugs as those used in France, so it is not necessary to bring an adapter.

Health 

To travel in Martinique, some vaccinations are recommended. These include tetanus, diphtheria, hepatitis A and B, poliomyelitis and whooping cough. As for yellow fever, the vaccine is not mandatory if you come from Europe or the United States. 

However, if you are coming from a country where the disease is active (sub-Saharan Africa and South America), this vaccine may be required just like in metropolitan France. This is the case for Bolivia, Peru, Argentina, Paraguay, Ecuador, Colombia, Brazil, Guyana and Venezuela. For travelers coming from these countries, the vaccine may be useful for administrative reasons.

In any case, it is important to check the regulations before the trip. Martinique and the Caribbean in general being in a tropical climate zone, there is a risk of dengue, Zika and chikungunia. It is therefore advisable to take the necessary measures to avoid mosquito bites (mosquito repellents, mosquito nets). On the other hand, no worries with malaria which has disappeared on the island!

During the COVID period, the instructions and restrictions are likely to change and be modified. It is therefore necessary to be informed before departure about travel arrangements (PCR test, health pass...).

The budget in Martinique 

You will find on this article, a table of the average budget for each category of expenses (air tickets, accommodation, catering, etc....) in order to give you a more or less precise idea of the budget you should plan for your trip.

If you want to go between February and April or June and August, you have to book at least 3 months in advance in order to have attractive prices.

Accommodation 

In terms of accommodation, you will be spoilt for choice: private villas, 4 star hotels, hotels, Appart'hotel, bed and breakfasts, unusual accommodation or even Airbnb rental, you just have to make a hole in the wall! In the meantime, discover our top 5 hotels on the island.

The restaurants 

Martinique is full of restaurants for all tastes! And this, for an extremely interesting quality/price ratio. We invite you to discover our article on the 8 restaurants we recommend for a total gustatory and cultural immersion.

Better understand Martinique 

History 

 Christopher Columbus landed on the island of flowers on June 15, 1502, at the current location of the town of Carbet. At that time, Amerindian peoples had been living on these lands for a long time. The oldest traces date from 2400 to 1900 B.C., but it is possible that it was earlier.

In 1635, the French took possession of the island with the landing of the buccaneer Pierre Belain d'Esnambuc. They first settled in the western part of the island. They then founded Fort Saint-Pierre and Fort Royal which would become Fort-de-France

There are tensions and conflicts on the island between the colonists and the Indians who were living there when they arrived. The Indians were massacred and those who managed to escape took refuge in Dominica and Saint Vincent.

On the island of flowers the colonists cultivated sugar cane, tobacco, indigo, cocoa and coffee. But this agriculture required slavery and the trade of blacks from Africa. The first slaves arrived in 1641.

Slavery developed greatly between 1671 and 1674, exploding from 1680. We then see a real triangular trade (Africa, Europe, America) linked to the massive cultivation of sugar cane and other local products. During the revolution of 1848, the slaves of the West Indies demanded the abolition of slavery.

They obtained it on May 22, 1848. Since 1946, Martinique is a French overseas department. The island owes its name to the Caribbean Indians. It is a derivative of the names they used to designate these lands "Madiana", "Madinina" or "Mantinino".

Saint-Pierre 

The city of Saint-Pierre or "Little Paris of the Antilles" is located in the northwest of Martinique. This town is the former administrative, economic and cultural capital of the island (chief town).

It was also the economic and cultural "capital" of the island until 1902, when it was destroyed by the eruption of the Pelee.

Flags 

What you need to know is that the island of flowers has 3 flags. Each one has its reasons to be, its meaning and its history. Each one is more fascinating than the other. So let's go for a good Creole history lesson: the flags of Martinique

Fort de France, the capital of Martinique? 

Fort-de-France is the largest city in Martinique, and also the most populated. Did you know that the city was called Fort-Royal until the early 1800s? That's probably why its inhabitants are called the Foyalais. As you may have guessed, the city was first a Fort, built in 1639. Fort Royal became a city in 1669. During its colonial history, the city was occupied in turn by the French and the British. The city was finally named Fort-de-France in 1807 and keeps its name until today.

If you have read some of our articles, you may have seen that Saint-Pierre was the main city of Martinique. Until it was tragically destroyed by the famous eruption of the Mount Pelee volcano. Info: Fort-de-France had Mr. Aimé Césaire as mayor of the city from 1945 to 2000... Elected and re-elected for 56 years, we can say that he was very "loved"!

Cities of Martinique and their postal codes 

The island of flowers has many towns (cities), each one more beautiful than the other.
Discover without further delay, the 34 towns of Martinique.

Cities to visit in Martinique

34 cities in Martinique

Les cookies du péyi 🍪🌴 Les partenaires sélectionnés et nous-mêmes utilisons des cookies ou des technologies similaires comme décrits dans la politique relative aux cookies.

Tu peux consentir à l'utilisation de ces technologies en cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous.

Consulte notre Politique en matière de cookies.

Inscris-toi à notre ☀️ sun'letter* !
*newsletter martiniquaise

Ne rate pas les meilleures idées d’aventures, les infos pratiques pour un séjour inoubliable et de nombreuses surprises. Promis, pas de spam !

Pas maintenant

Martinique

Voyage au cœur de la Martinique

Située entre mer et terre, la Martinique est une région française d’outre-mer. Elle jouit d’un climat agréable, d’un patrimoine historique étonnant et d’innombrables richesses, ce qui lui a permis de s’imposer comme une destination touristique incontournable. Elle est composée de 34 communes, chacune ayant des lieux à explorer.



L’île aux fleurs

La Martinique est une petite île, de 1 100 km², composée de 34 communes pour 376 480 habitants. Elle fait partie de l’Arc Volcanique des petites Antilles. Un vrai paradis terrestre, vous en avez sûrement déjà entendu parler. Je serai surpris si tel n’est pas le cas.

La Martinique est donc un DROM signifiant Département et Région d’Outre-mer. Sa culture est une fusion splendide de la culture française et créole. Toujours une touche d’authenticité avec un brin de modernité, vous êtes sûrs d’adorer !

Entre plages paradisiaques, forêt luxuriante et héritage colonial, l’île aux fleurs a tout à offrir à ceux qui recherchent des moments de douceur au soleil.

Cette page recense un ensemble d’informations sur l’île de la Martinique. Vous y trouverez ses communes, les différentes cartes, son histoire ou encore sa densité géographique.

Informations pratiques

L’essentiel

Si votre voyage en Martinique est réservé, il ne vous reste plus qu’à préparer votre valise. La Martinique bénéficie d’un climat tropical, comme l’ensemble des Antilles. Les températures sont donc agréables toute l’année. Entre juin et novembre le climat sera plus chaud et humide avec parfois des pluies tropicales. Et entre décembre et mai les températures seront plus douces et le climat sec. Dans votre valise, vous emporterez donc des tenues estivales. 

Vous prendrez des vêtements légers pouvant être portés pour aller à la plage ou pour visiter l’île aux fleurs et faire des activités. Préparez donc vos robes, shorts, débardeurs et t-shirts préférés pour ce beau voyage tropical. Pensez à prendre un vêtement un peu plus chaud, par exemple pour la climatisation dans les restaurants ou pour les randonnées en altitude. Pensez bien sûr à emmener maillot de bain, tongs, chaussures confortables, casquette, lunettes de soleil et surtout crème solaire. 

Enfin, si vous souhaitez découvrir les fonds marins, pensez à emmener masque et tubas. Et pour immortaliser vos plus beaux souvenirs de Martinique et des Caraïbes n’oubliez pas votre appareil photo et éventuellement un caméscope.

Les formalités

Si vous êtes ressortissants de l’Union Européenne, il vous faudra un passeport ou une carte nationale d’identité en cours de validité pour aller en Martinique. Pour les ressortissants Suisses, le passeport est demandé. Par ailleurs, le passeport sera nécessaire si vous avez dans l’idée de faire une extension dans les îles anglophones des environs. Le visa n’est pas nécessaire pour les séjours de moins de 90 jours pour les ressortissants de l’Union Européenne et pour les Suisses.

La monnaie utilisée sur place est l’euro puisque la Martinique est un département français d'Outre-Mer. Le dollar américain peut aussi être accepté bien que ce soit assez rarement le cas. Les cartes bleues et chèques voyage sont acceptés. Et concernant l’électricité, il s’agit de courant 220 volts avec des prises identiques à celles utilisées en France, il ne sera donc pas nécessaire d’emmener un adaptateur.

La santé

Pour voyager en Martinique, certains vaccins sont conseillés. C’est le cas notamment du tétanos, diphtérie, hépatites A et B, poliomyélite, coqueluche. Pour ce qui est de la fièvre jaune, le vaccin n’est pas obligatoire si vous venez d’Europe ou des États-Unis. 

Néanmoins, si vous êtes en provenance d’un pays où la maladie est active (Afrique sub-saharienne et Amérique du sud), ce vaccin peut être exigé tout comme en France métropolitaine. C’est le cas par exemple de la Bolivie, Pérou, Argentine, Paraguay, Equateur, Colombie, Brésil, Guyane et Venezuela. Pour les voyageurs provenant de ces pays-là, le vaccin peut être utile pour des raisons administratives.

Dans tous les cas, il est important de vérifier la réglementation avant le voyage. La Martinique et les Caraïbes en général étant dans une zone au climat tropical, il y a un risque de dengue, Zika et chikungunia. Il conviendra donc de faire le nécessaire pour éviter les piqûres de moustiques (répulsifs moustiques, moustiquaires). Par contre, pas de soucis avec le paludisme qui a disparu sur l'île !

En période de COVID, les consignes et restrictions sont susceptibles d’évoluer et d’être modifiées. Il faudra donc de se tenir informé avant le départ pour les modalités de voyage (test PCR, pass sanitaire…).

Le budget en Martinique

Vous trouverez sur cet article, un tableau du budget moyen de chaque catégorie de dépenses (billets d’avion, logement, restauration, etc.…) afin de vous donner une idée plus ou moins précise du budget que vous devriez prévoir pour votre voyage.

Si vous souhaitez partir entre février et avril ou encore juin et août, il faut s’y prendre au moins 3 mois à l’avance afin d’avoir des prix attractifs.
 N’hésitez pas à consulter le blog Le planificateur à contresens qui vous permet de budgétiser votre voyage en Martinique avec encore plus de précision !

L’hébergement

En termes d’hébergement, vous allez avoir l’embarras du choix : Villas privées, hôtel 4 étoiles, hotels, Appart’hôtel, gîtes, hébergements insolites ou encore location d'Airbnb, vous n’avez qu’à faire trou bout de cochon ! En attendant, découvrez notre top 5 des hôtels de l’île.

Les restaurants

La Martinique regorge de nombreux restaurants pour tous les goûts ! Et cela, pour un rapport qualité/prix extrêmement intéressant. Nous vous invitons à découvrir notre article sur les 8 restaurants que nous vous conseillons pour une immersion gustative et culturelle la plus totale.

Mieux comprendre la Martinique

Histoire

 Christophe Colomb débarque sur l’île aux fleurs le 15 juin 1502, à l’emplacement actuel de la commune du Carbet. À l’époque, des peuples amérindiens résident sur ces terres depuis bien longtemps. Les plus vieilles traces datent de -2400 à -1900 avant J.C., mais il est possible que ce soit plus ancien.

En 1635, les Français prennent possession de l’île lors du débarquement du flibustier Pierre Belain d’Esnambuc. Ils s'installent d'abord dans la partie ouest de l'île. Ils fondent alors le Fort Saint-Pierre et Fort Royal qui deviendra Fort-de-France

Il y a sur l'île des tensions et des conflits entre les colons et les Indiens qui vivaient là à leur arrivée. Les Indiens sont massacrés et ceux qui parviennent à s'en sortir vont se réfugier à la Dominique et île de Saint-Vincent.

Sur l’île aux fleurs les colons cultivent canne à sucre, tabac, indigo, cacao et café. Mais cette agriculture fait appel à l’esclavage et à la traite des noirs provenant d'Afrique. Les premiers esclaves arrivent en 1641.

L'esclavage se développe beaucoup entre 1671 et 1674, explosant à partir de 1680. On voit alors un véritable commerce triangulaire (Afrique, Europe, Amérique) lié à la culture massive de la canne à sucre et autres produits locaux. Durant la révolution de 1848, les esclaves des Antilles réclament l’abolition de l’esclavage.

Ils vont l’obtenir le 22 mai 1848. Depuis 1946, la Martinique est un département français d’Outre-Mer. L'île doit son nom aux indiens Caraïbes. Il s'agit d'un dérivé des noms qu'ils utilisaient pour désigner ces terres "Madiana", "Madinina" ou "Mantinino".

Saint-Pierre

La ville de Saint-Pierre ou « Petit Paris des Antilles » se situe au nord-ouest de la Martinique. Ce bourg est l’ancienne capitale administrative, économique et culturelle de l’île (chef-lieu).

Elle fut aussi la « capitale » économique et culturelle de l’île jusqu’en 1902, date de sa destruction par l’éruption de la Pelée.

Les Drapeaux

Ce qu’il faut savoir, c’est que l'île aux fleurs à 3 drapeaux. Chacun a ses raisons d’être, sa signification et son histoire. Toutes plus passionnantes les unes que les autres. Alors c’est parti pour une bonne leçon d’histoire créole : les drapeaux de la Martinique

Fort de France, la capitale de la Martinique ?

Fort-de-France est la plus grande ville de la Martinique, et également la plus peuplée. Saviez-vous que la ville avait pour nom Fort-Royal, et ce, jusqu’au début des années 1800. C’est sûrement pour ça que ses habitants sont appelés les Foyalais. Vous l’aurez deviné, la ville était d’abord un Fort, construit en 1639. Le Fort-Royal deviendra ville en 1669. Au cours de son histoire coloniale, la ville fut occupée tour à tour par les Français et les Britanniques. La ville est finalement baptisée Fort-de-France en 1807 et garde son nom jusqu’aujourd’hui.

Si vous avez lu quelques articles de notre sélection, vous avez peut-être vu que Saint-Pierre était la ville principale de la Martinique. Jusqu’à ce qu’elle fut tragiquement détruite par la fameuse éruption du volcan de la Montagne Pelée. Info : Fort-de-France a eu monsieur Aimé Césaire comme maire de la ville de 1945 à 2000… Élu puis réélu pendant 56 ans, on peut dire qu’il était très « aimé » !

Les villes de la Martinique et leurs codes postaux

L'île aux fleurs compte de nombreuses communes (villes), toutes plus ravissantes les unes que les autres.
Découvrez sans plus tarder, les 34 villes de la Martinique.

Les villes à visiter en Martinique

34 villes en Martinique

Chat